This is the composing log I did for my “This I Believe” essay. If you have kept up with this year’s MLB postseason, then try not to laugh while reading my paper. Video is included as well.

8/30
Thinking about doing “I believe in positive role models” for my project. Too many kids look up to athletes or musicians as role models.
I plan on doing it in iMovie
I’m also thinking about doing “I believe in music” because music is my passion.

9/2
I decided write my paper on “I believe in the Atlanta Braves”
I wrote my paper and am gathering photos for the presentation. Here is my paper.

     I believe in the Atlanta Braves. I have been a die hard Braves fan my whole life. Even when I was a toddler I could watch an entire game and never once get distracted with something else as most kids that age would. I even used to rent game six of the 1995 World Series on VHS at my library when I was a kid. I was born in 1991, the year the Braves went from worst to first and made it all the way to the World Series.  Was it a coincidence? Yes, but I like to think their World Series had something to do with me.  From 1991 to 2005, the Braves won 14 straight division titles and went to five World Series. It was indeed an incredible run, but out of the five World Series, the Braves only won one of them in 1995.  It was a very bittersweet run.

     It has been hard to be a Braves fan since the run ended in 2005. In 2007 we traded prospects that would later become All-Stars for Mark Teixeira. Mark Teixeira was a great player that we only had for half a season, and then he left us and the Braves received nothing in return. We did not even make the playoffs that year and it took a few years for the Braves to recover from that. Since 2005 they have made the playoffs only once and it was as a wild card team in 2010. They lost to the San Francisco Giants, who went on to win the World Series, but they should have beaten them if it was not for costly errors. Last year the Braves suffered one of the most epic collapses in baseball history. It was a year they were sure to make the playoffs, but the St. Louis Cardinals chased them down on the last game of the year. The Cardinals would also go on to the win the World Series.

     Despite all the trials and tribulations the Braves have gone through the past few years, I believe this is the year we will win it all. We currently lead the wild card, but there is also something else that makes this year very special. It is Chipper Jones’ last year. He has been a Brave his entire career, which is something very rare in this day and age, and he is a sure-fire first ballot hall of famer. He is someone I have grown up watching and am proud to call a Brave. There is nothing more I want then to send him out a World Series champion, and I think we will do it because I believe in the Atlanta Braves.

9/9
I gathered some more photos
I recorded my voice for the project. It took so many times because I kept messing up. Never thought it would be that hard to read my essay out loud without slipping up. I also did not like hearing my own voice…..AT ALL.

9/10
I did the the project in iMovie. It was very frustrating because my project got deleted as soon as I finished it so I had to redo it.
It ended up taking a lot longer than I thought but I’m glad I got it done.
I chose to put the instrumental of a song Stars Shine Brightest (In The Darkest of Night) by the CunninLynguists. It has an uplifting vibe which I thought was fitting.
9/11
Today I uploaded my video to youtube. Here it is.

Reflection
I have never kept a composing log before, so this was pretty new to me. I definitely had to start with the essay before I started the actual project. I didn’t mind jotting down what I did each day because it made me realize what needed to be done next, and it kept my thoughts and steps organized.

