Everyone is a participant when it comes to the internet. It seems like everyone wants to share to the world what he or she is thinking or doing. Social networking and blogging are the platforms to do this. Rhiengold describes blogging as, “…a way to find your voice and public, connect with likeminded communities, improve you digital profile, influence others, and contribute to the commons.” (Pg. 122). Blogging can be great because you can connect with other people that share the same interest as you. I frequent certain blogs for that same reason. I am really into hip hop, but I cannot talk to any of my Facebook friends because none of them share the same passion, so I just go to my favorite hip hop blogs to fill that void and get my fix. Twitter is the same way for me. I do not use Twitter to keep up with high school friends, like I do with Facebook, I use it to follow musicians or any other person that is of any interests to me and also connect with people that share my same interests. My point is, is that everyone uses their social media outlets differently. 

     There are still ways to participate on the internet even you do not like updating your facebook, tweeting or posting new stuff on your blog. Curation is when you “like” a status, “favorite” or “retweet” someones tweet or share someone’s blog link. Curating is basically a way to form friendships by showing other people you care about what they have to say. Whether you are active in posting information or just a curator, you are leaving traces of your interests for everyone to know. In fact, large corporations can track and collect this data and sell it for a profit. Trebor Scholz is quoted in this chapter as saying, “Social participation is the oil of the digital economy.” (Pg. 137). It is pretty scary to think every thing you do on the internet is traced and then used to turn a profit. It is actually really scary. 

